Office Birthday: Benedict Cumberbatch Theme

I spend the year planning parties and treats for my co-workers, so when my birthday rolled around last week I wasn’t sure what to expect in return.

In the past they’ve built me a Tardis (or most of one, until they were told to stop using up all the blue ink in the printers), they had a bunch of people bake a table-load of desserts, and one time they gave me a dozen birthday cards, all with loving messages (forged, but loving) from my favorite celebrity crushes.

This year I walked into an office full of Benedict Cumberbatch. Not just around my desk, but in hallways, elevators, the kitchen area, conference rooms and even the women’s bathroom, there was Benedelicious. They put up blonde Bens, brunette Bens, Sherlockian Bens and even a Ben with a monkey.

He's explaining how Sherlock survived. With a monkey.

He’s explaining how Sherlock survived. With a monkey.

That's a whole lot of sexy on my desk.

That’s a whole lot of sexy on my desk.

It was Cumberbitchin’.

I also got some lovely gifts. One very artistic co-worker drew an amazing picture of Hogwarts for me, and another… drew on a banana. It was a pretty saucy banana though, and certainly nothing I expected to receive for my birthday.

The banana didn't make it through the weekend, but we cherished her while she was with us.

The banana didn’t make it through the weekend, but we cherished her while she was with us.

So. Many. Calories.

So. Many. Calories.

For snacks, they anti-baked for me. That is, they created a clever “Hostess with the Mostess” sign and surrounded it with piles of Twinkies, Ho-Hos, Cupcakes and even Snowballs (which my manager drove around to gas stations to find because they weren’t available at the grocery store she went to).

Even the chocolate-hating Canadian found something to eat.

Even the chocolate-hating Canadian found something to eat.

Underneath the pile was a gorgeous, slightly alcoholic birthday cake that we all enjoyed. It was one of the best hand-bought birthday cakes I’ve ever had, but most of all I just enjoyed seeing my whole team get together to socialize and snack together.

We're a damn good looking group.

We’re a damn good looking group.

Maybe next year I can get them all to sing me my birthday song:

Do the Bartman,
Lisa

Categories: Decorating the Office, Office Birthdays | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

So whatcha think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

