Baking Goodbye to Matt Smith: It’s a Doctor Who Christmas! (Or a Happy Who Year)

For most people, Wednesday is Christmas; it’s a day for family and feasting and cheer and gifts and joy.

For Doctor Who geeks, Wednesday is “Goodbye, Matt Smith” day, and it will be filled with anxiety and sadness and probably some tears. I don’t know why the BBC wants to traumatize us on a perfectly good holiday, but I suppose the British are just heartless like that.

I started getting in a Who mood last month when I travelled from my home in California all the way to London for the Doctor Who Celebration, a three-day convention where Matt Smith and Jenna Louise Colman were all over the place, some of the classic Doctors attended and there were probably a couple dozen of the classic companions doing panels and autographs.

I had a nice chat with Tom Baker. That's Colin Baker in the back there.

I had a nice chat with Tom Baker. That’s Colin Baker in the back there.

To quote the Doctor who wasn’t there (why doesn’t he love us?), it was fan-TAS-tic.

Seeing Matt Smith in person being all shy and awkward and funny made me appreciate him even more, and I thought back to David Tennant’s last episode when I was determined to hate anyone who wasn’t him, especially this young floppy-haired guy.

I could Photoshop David Tennant's face on here pretty easily. But that would be creepy, right?

I could Photoshop David Tennant’s face on here pretty easily. But that would be creepy, right?

But despite all my reservations, I have to admit that Matt Smith had me at fish fingers and custard. He might have even had me at “apples are rubbish.” I enjoy his goofy charm and endless energy, and the past five years with him has been a nice surprise.

So here’s one last hoorah for the 11th Time Lord, because if David Tennant turned the Doctor into a swoonworthy Cassanova, Matt Smith turned him into an intergalactic rock star. Could any of the other Doctors held their own at Glastonbury?

I’ve done some Who baking before, so have a look at my 50th Anniversary treats and my first attempt at a Doctor Who themed party. I still haven’t figured out what Ood Food would look like though.

For today’s treats I got out the items I found at a home and kitchen store during my side trip to Cardiff. You need to go to Cardiff, by the way, to the Doctor Who Experience. It’s like a museum of sets and costumes and props from the show, and I got to touch David Tennant’s Tardis and soak up the sexy vibes.

My Cardiff souvenirs.

My Cardiff souvenirs.

The Experience is also right across the street from the BBC studios where they film the show. When I showed up to the Experience the ticket person let me know the set was open today and asked would I like to tour the Tardis for an extra £7? Um, yes. I needed to do that.

This is one of the most exciting door openings you'll ever experience.

This is one of the most exciting door openings you’ll ever experience.

And so our little group of six walked through the wind and rain and wound up at the front door of Matt Smith’s Tardis. It’s a full, 360 degree set, so you walk in and it’s exactly how it looks on TV – no big cut out areas for cameras or anything. And when you go down the stairs you’re underneath the console, where he’s always fiddling with cables and things. It was about as immersive an experience as you can get in the geek world.

When you’re done, go to Eddie’s Diner to have a burger and shake and see where Matt Smith wore his Stetson.

Ok, back to the baking stuff. So I had the Tardis/K-9/Dalek mold, and by accident, while trying to make a darker Tardis blue by adding four red candy melts to half a cup of blue ones, I made a perfect grey. Clearly I know nothing about colors, but the Daleks and K-9s came out really well. I used the regular blue for the Tardises and they’re a bit light, but otherwise fine.

And yes, there's 11 of them.

And yes, there’s 11 of them.

No bad for coming out of a box.

No bad for coming out of a box.

I wanted to use these as cupcake toppers and in the interest of saving time (because Christmas is only a few days a way and there is much to do), I got this new Hershey’s S’mores Cupcake box mix.

I saw a recipe for S’mores cupcakes made from scratch on Martha Stewart years ago and have always wanted to try them, but doing it from a package mix just seemed simpler.

They were very easy to do and got rave reviews from my coworkers. I would just recommend that you really press the graham cracker crumbs firmly into the cups with something flat (like this Pampered Chef mini-tart shaper that I scored at a garage sale over the summer for .50). This way you’ll get a real crust and not just loose crumbs.

Smoosh it real good.

Smoosh it real good.

You know what else would have been cool to make? A Trenzalore cake. Like a giant Tardis on a sheet cake decorated with dozens of bitty gravestones and jagged candy rocks. A bit morbid right before Christmas though. Well, if you look at this cupcake from this angle it looks a little Trenzalorian:

I don't want to go.

I don’t want to go.

I wanted to get some more use out of my bow tie cookie cutter, so I made up some of those, and found that the cozy fire I had going was not conducive to keeping icing in its place. It got a bit too warm and oozy. Lesson learned.

And then I tried out my cupcake stencils on sugar cookies, but found that because the stencil was curved and the cookies were not, it was difficult to get clean lines on them, with either cocoa powder or powdered sugar. Tasty though, and a good reason to make more cupcakes to try them again.

None of these cookies are blank. You just don't remember seeing The Silence. And yes, there are 11 of them.

None of these cookies are blank. You just don’t remember seeing The Silence. And yes, there are 11 of them.

It just happened that my most awesome coworker gave me the Christmas gift of a plush Matt Smith today, which was perfect. The hair on this thing is incredible and I spent ages brushing it this way and that. Who needs a Barbie doll?

Yep, eleven of these, too.

Yep, 11 of these, too.

So happy eating and happy holidays to all, and let’s try to keep it together during this Christmas farewell episode, alright? Because it can’t possibly be more traumatic than “Doomsday.”

A plain, white wall has never been so soul crushing.

A plain, white wall has never been so soul crushing.

New mouth, new rules,
Lisa

Matt Smith was my bff for approximately 32 seconds. It was lovely.

Matt Smith was my bff for approximately 32 seconds. It was lovely.

Categories: Box Mix, Doctor Who, Geek Baking, Theme Parties | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Baking Goodbye to Matt Smith: It’s a Doctor Who Christmas! (Or a Happy Who Year)

  1. Pingback: Baking for Gene Roddenberry’s Birthday: Star Trek Treats | Baking for the Office

So whatcha think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

