Baking for Halloween: Malted Monster Cupcakes

My baking theme for this month, aside from Halloween, is Using Up Odds and Ends from my Baking Cabinet. I buy too many things that I need for one recipe, then never use again, and it’s time to start cleaning things out. You know, so that I can buy more stuff before the real holiday baking begins.

I bought this malted milk powder back in June or July for milkshakes. And they were fine, but I just don’t get my blender out that often.

This is where it all began.

This is where it all began.

So what else can you do with malt? You can make Martha Stewart’s Chocolate Malted Cupcakes!

Another garage sale find. I paid $2.00, but it's worth at least $7.50 :)

Another garage sale find. I paid $2.00, but it’s worth at least $7.50 🙂

I also have a bunch of Halloween cupcake liners and a Halloween cupcake stand I got at a garage sale this summer. Garage sales are really the secret to most of what I do. I almost never go to a store and pay full price for party decorations. After a holiday I’ll pick up things like plates and napkins and banners and whatever else will store well, if there’s a good discount.

Sometimes I buy things at garage sales or thrift stores that I’m not even sure what to do with, just because they’re so cheap. Right now I have a bag full of 1980s-era G.I. Joe party supplies – all new and still sealed – for the day when I have a co-worker who will appreciate the nostalgia. It was $2 for everything, so I could hardly pass it by.

Back to the cupcakes. They smelled delicious coming out of the over and stayed nice and poofy. Turning them into monsters involved splitting my butter cream frosting into two batches – one green and one purple – and then adding some of Wilton’s googly eyes and a few cut up little marshmallows for fangs. Fangs are the best.

Chocolate Malted Cupcakes

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour3/4 cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed light-brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
1 1/4 cups malted milk powder
1 cup vegetable oil
3 large eggs, room temperature
1 cup sour cream, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1. Preheat over to 350F. Whisk together flour, cocoa, both sugars, baking soda and salt. In another bowl, whisk together milk and malted milk powder until dissolved.

2. Using an electric mixer on medium-high speed, beat flour mixture, milk mixture and oil until combined. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until each is incorporated. Add sour cream and vanilla and beat until just combined.

3. Divide batter evenly among cups, filling each halfway. Bake about 18 minutes, or until you can stick a toothpick into the middle of a cupcake and have it come out clean.

4. Once cool, frost and decorate.

My first time working with Betty's neon colors.

My first time working with Betty’s neon colors.

I really like the way the colors turned out. Very alien.

I really like the way the colors turned out. Very alien.

I’ve been wanting to frost cupcakes with a big dollop of color instead of something that looked piped, so this time I tried frosting them with a bag, but no tip. And it worked!

If you’re looking to make some “Doctor Who” cupcakes, these could easily be turned into some Slitheen.

Tip? Who needs a tip? Just get that bag in there!

Tip? Who needs a tip? Just get that bag in there!

I waited until I got to the office in the morning to add the eyes to the cupcakes, because last year when I tried using the eyes the color from the frosting bled into them, making them all look strange. Just something to consider if you aren’t serving these up right away.

The green ones are a little "Monsters, Inc." right?

The green ones are a little “Monsters, Inc.” right?

halloween-monster-cupcakes-table

I also had some Halloween glasses for people to try on, and the hams in my office (*cough* Bill *cough*) couldn’t refuse.

bill-halloween-cupcakes

jana-halloween-cupcakes

Are they as super-cool-fantastic as my Hanson-themed “Get the Ghoul Back Brownies”? Maybe, maybe not. But they were gobbled up faster than you can say “MMMBop.”

I was working in the lab late one night,
Lisa

Categories: Bake From Scratch, Baking Holidays, Cupcakes, Halloween | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

So whatcha think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

