Buying for the Office: Talk Like a Pirate Day

I’m so ashamed. This should have been on my calendar ages ago. Alas, me hearties, ’twas not until yesterday that I read that today, the 19th of September, is Talk Like a Pirate Day.

IMAG1358

Even then I thought maybe I’d have time to whip up some Booty Brownies in the evening, but it wasn’t to be, because for the first time in years some scurvy ants had stampeded my kitchen and made baking for my office an impossible task.

Arrrg, the dirty curs!

So what’s a pirate queen to do when there’s no baking to be done? She recycles previous party treats and goes to the grocery store.

IMAG1359

Luckily, my co-worker…, er, co-pirate, Jon, still has all the props and goodies I brought in for his Indiana Jones-themed birthday two years ago. That included a small treasure chest, skull, compasses and spy glass. I had a pirate hat and eye patch at home, because who doesn’t? And then I just needed some booty. Because who doesn’t?

IMAG1357

Buying grocery store cupcakes and brownies goes against every grain of my being, but I wanted something quick and pretty to put my Jolly Rodger flags in. I grabbed a bag of big pretzel sticks and labeled them “Wooden Legs”, got some gold- and silver-wrapped Nuggets to put in the treasure chest, and then got two bags of Pirate’s Booty, because I couldn’t pass up the obvious.

IMAG1360

It came out looking pretty good, but the best part was when Michelle (of the Hello Kitty birthday party) picked up a cupcake and said, “You made these?” I said no, I didn’t, and she put it back down and walked away.

It’s nice to know I’ve been a positive influence on people’s taste buds around here.

Shiver me timbers!
Lisa

IMAG1361

Categories: Baking Holidays, Cupcakes, Theme Parties | Tags: | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Buying for the Office: Talk Like a Pirate Day

  1. Reblogged this on FutrellCrochet.

So whatcha think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

