Baking for the 4th of July: Angel Food Cake

Happy 3rd of July!

It’s been averaging about 100 degrees at my house over the last few days, staying around 85-90 in the kitchen even in the evenings. (Nope, no A/C at my place.)

That made it pretty easy for me to decide that I wouldn’t be making anything that required frosting this week. I didn’t really even want to turn on the oven, but sometimes sacrifices must be made. I mean, just look at what happened when I didn’t plan anything for Canada Day earlier this week and one of my co-workers took things into his own hands:

It's a make-your-own-ketchup-chips station! Ugh.

It’s a make-your-own-ketchup-chips station! Ugh.

At the last minute yesterday I decided to make something that was both simple and relatively healthy: Angel Food cake with strawberries, blueberries and whipped cream.

This is something anyone can do. Angel Food cake box mixes are the easiest ever – you just add water and mix – and you don’t even have to grease the pan. Fresh fruit is always a favorite in the office and I kept everything separate so that people who wanted to have some fruit without the cake could easily do that.

angel-food-cake

I know, it’s not the snazziest spread I’ve ever put together, but people still get excited over anything freshly baked. And our new coworker, Neil from Cincinnati, even dressed up for the occasion:

I'm not sure if Molly back there is eying the cake from afar, or if she's just shocked to see someone in a tie. Maybe both.

I’m not sure if Molly back there is eying the cake from afar, or if she’s just shocked to see someone in a tie. Maybe both.

For an office where jeans, t-shirts and flip flops are common, this is very impressive.

Baby, you’re a firework,
Lisa

Categories: Baking Holidays | Leave a comment

Post navigation

So whatcha think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

