Baking Brownies for the Office

My coworker, Justin, loves my Peanut Butter Brownies. So for his birthday I figured I’d just whip up a quick pan.

Delicious stuff.

I love the Ghirardelli brownie recipe on their Sweet Ground Chocolate can (simple, but fancier and chocolatey-er than a box mix), and usually I just layer nine Ghirardelli Peanut Butter Squares in the middle (so you put down half the batter, then the squares, then the rest of the batter).

The problem? I couldn’t find the Peanut Butter Squares freaking anywhere! Are they seasonal? Are they sold out? Did Ghirardelli stop making their tastiest squares of all? I don’t know. Even Amazon didn’t have them, which pretty much means they don’t exist.

It looked like I would have to improvise.

I had a couple of box mixes around, so I decided to save my fancy Sweet Ground Chocolate for another occasion and use one of those.

Going through my baking shelves I saw that I happened to have a bag of Mini Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups that I had planned to use as the center of a cookie. But I didn’t need cookies as much as I needed brownies, so I decided to break them open.

I wound up with a pan of brownies that looked like this before I poured the rest of the batter in:

Reese's Peanut Butter Brownies

Just about to pour on the top layer.

Just to be on the safe side, I decided to do a second pan of brownies, but this time with a more adult taste. So out came Ed Engoron’s Chocolatique cookbook . (I completely love their truffles. They come in fun, nostalgic flavors, like Boston Creme Pie and Peanut Butter & Jelly, which is far more my style than Lavender Grapefruit or shmancy stuff like that.)

I’d drooled over the recipes but hadn’t dived in to try anything yet, mostly because all of the recipes are based on a ganache, which you have to make up ahead of time. But a couple of days before I’d made the ganache, figuring that once I had that I’d be all set to bake.

Ed’s Best “Got Milk” Brownies looked like a good place to start, and I don’t think you can go wrong when you start with a rich, fudgy ganache that makes your mouth water at the first sniff.

Forget the brownies. Just get a spoon and start snacking.

The recipe was simple to follow, except for the part where you’re supposed to let them cool before cutting and eating. I can never wait that long to have just a little bite.

At the office the next day I set out both types of brownies. The Peanut Butter Brownies disappeared first, but largely because that’s what the birthday boy wanted, and I think he had a few just for breakfast.

The Mini Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup brownies

Most people agreed that the Chocolatique brownies were richer and had a deeper chocolate flavor, but some just preferred the idea of a brownie that was full of mini Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.

Ed’s Best “Got Milk” Brownies

So which brownie would your coworkers choose? Probably one of each, so it’s a good thing they’re so easy to make.

Brownie Batter,
Lisa

Categories: Brownies | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Baking Brownies for the Office

  1. I’m so happy you loved my Choclatique brownies. My book, Choclatique-150 Simply Elegant Desserts was designed to be a guide for the baker, not a definitive book of Ed’s recipes. The recipes all have a great deal of forgiveness to them–so by all means–feel free to experiment and add peanut butter cups, nuts, cherries or chips to make each recipe your own. I included variations on many recipes. as well as ChefSecrets to aid in the creative process. If you don’t have the time and simply want to make great brownies, I also offer my Double Dark Chocolate Brownie Mix on our website http://www.Choclatique.com . The secret to this mix is we use crushed chocolate instead of cocoa powder. I hope you’ll try more of my recipes and customize them to make each one your very own.

    Ed Engoron, Co-Founder
    Choclatique

  2. Thanks for stopping by, Ed! I’ve been a big fan ever since I ordered a box of Chocolatique truffles to be sent to a friend of mine. Her box arrived missing one and you replied to my email with an explanation of how fairies or gnomes or something often get up to mischief in your stores. And you replaced the chocolate.

    I look forward to trying more of your recipes, and I’m sure my coworkers do, too.

    Lisa

So whatcha think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

