Office Birthday: Moustache Monday Theme

Table o’ staches

I try to keep up with all the office birthdays, but sometimes one slips through the cracks, especially if the birthday person doesn’t want us to know it’s their birthday.

And that’s what happened with Morgan. His birthday was in January but I didn’t find out about it until a few days after the fact. Rather than put together a lame, “Happy Birthday… last week” party I decided to wait and surprise him with another type of party.

Morgan has been growing a moustache for the last couple of months (or “mustache” if you prefer), and so when I saw the moustache candy molds at Michael’s a few weeks ago I knew that would be a great theme for a party. I thought about making it a surprise, but decided it would be more fun to give everyone notice so that they could grow, create or design a moustache of their own.

The belated birthday boy and his matching moustaches

Last Thursday I sent the email out to my team:

“Just so you’re prepared, in honor of and inspired by Morgan’s upper lip, I’m declaring this Monday to be Moustache Monday.

So men, grow ‘em if you’ve got ‘em. And ladies… improvise.”

To celebrate I made moustaches using the two molds I bought ($1.99 each and often available at some JoAnn’s, Michaels and other party stores), filling them with melted semi-sweet chocolate chips, along with blue and purple candy melts. I was afraid the lollipop sticks would be tricky, but as long as you roll them around to make sure they’re well coated, they stay in just fine.

Cute signage is a must for any office party

I also make strawberry cupcakes from a box mix and swirled some regular buttercream frosting on them. I had planned to put the candy moustaches on them, but it became clear that they were much too big for the cupcakes and wouldn’t stay on, so instead I improvised and drew moustaches on the cupcakes. Clearly, drawing with frosting isn’t a strength of mine, but for a first try they weren’t bad, and some were pretty cute.

I did pencil moustaches, Ron Swanson moustaches, goatees, soul patches, twirly moustaches and even a Salvador Dali spiky moustache.

We had a fun day playing with the ‘staches, and Morgan seemed touched to have a party in his honor.

The lesson here is that un-birthday parties can be just as good as the real thing.

I wish I could stay, but I moustache,
Lisa

Nobody can resist a candy stache

Categories: Office Birthdays | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Office Birthday: Moustache Monday Theme

  1. Haha, that is inspired 🙂

  2. elaine

    great party idea

So whatcha think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

