Baking for Valentine’s Day: Maple Cupcakes With Cream Cheese Frosting and Bacon

You might think it sounds crazy, but my coworkers love the bacon on these cupcakes. Look how simple it is:

I started with Martha Stewart’s recipe for Maple Cake. I’ve made it as a bundt cake before, and even mini bundts, but it works just as well as cupcakes. Just reduce the baking time to 12-15 minutes.

Next I made regular cream cheese frosting. Use your favorite recipe or try this one. I piped that on to make it pretty then added a few pink, Valentiney sprinkles.

I put that all together yesterday and stored them in the fridge (because of the cream cheese). Then this morning I cooked up the bacon so it would be fresh and crispy. I put it in paper towels until I got to the office, then I broke the pieces up a little and put them on the cupcakes. I left some bacon-less for my veggie coworkers but put out extra bacon for people to use however they wanted.

The end result is sort of like a breakfast cupcake because it tastes like pancakes with maple syrup, and bacon that has also gotten in the syrup a little. And I suppose the cream cheese is bagel-esque.

It’s a party for your mouth. And your Valentine, or your coworkers, will love you for it.

Mmmmm… bacon,
Lisa

Categories: Bake From Scratch, Office Holiday Parties | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Baking for Valentine’s Day: Maple Cupcakes With Cream Cheese Frosting and Bacon

  1. that is actually kind of cool lol you want to school for any of this or you just have fun baking for everyone?

  2. Pingback: My American Dessert Sampler: 8 Hours of Baking Pays Off « Baking for the Office

  3. Pingback: Baking for the Office Farewell: Bacon Week! | Baking for the Office

  4. Pingback: Baking for All This Love Crap: It’s Valentine’s Day, Hanson Style | Baking for the Office

  5. Pingback: Review: Betty Crocker’s Maple Bacon Cookie Mix | Baking for the Office

So whatcha think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

