Baking for Australia Day: Lamington Cake

Happy (almost) Australia Day!

Sure, it’s a bit of a controversial holiday there, since it celebrates the arrival of the white guys who wiped out a large part of the indigenous population, but hey, it’s also a reason to have cake.

I was lucky enough to live, study, work and travel around Australia for a while and so this is the time of year when I like to think about the people, places and foods there that I love and share it all with my coworkers.

The first time I put together a celebration I tried to make actual Lamingtons, just like I had at UNSW’s welcome party for international students. (Boring Californian me? International? Weird.)

Big mistake. Between trying to cover them in chocolate and roll them in coconut I wound up with a massive time-consuming mess. Tasty, but messy.

Martha's are prettier, but she also has a crew of kitchen gnomes to make them.

If you’re working full time you don’t want to spend hours in the kitchen, so I decided to improvise and make a Lamington cake instead. Same combination of cake, jam, chocolate and coconut, but far simpler to assemble and just as tasty to eat. Cupcakes would also be fun to try.

If you want to try your hand with Lamingtons, Martha Stewart’s recipe is a good place to start.

I have two more days of Australian goodies coming, so come back for Tim Tam Slams and Mini Pavlovas!

She’ll be apples,
Lisa

Categories: Office Holiday Parties | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Baking for Australia Day: Lamington Cake

  1. it is also republic day in India, make something orange

So whatcha think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

